Author Archives: EileenHerbertGoodall

AAWP 2021 Prizes Open

Please submit to our dazzling suite of prizes, as listed below.

Head to our Prizes page here to enter.

Terms and Conditions for the Sudden Writing Prize can be found here.
Terms and Conditions for the AAWP/Australian Short Story Festival Prize can be found here.
Terms and Conditions for the AAWP/UWRF Translators’ Prize can be found here.
Terms and Conditions for the UBUD/AAWP Emerging Writers’ Prize can be found here.

Calls for “Incompleteness” Submissions Extended

The Incompleteness Book II—Writing Back and Thinking Forward

Deadline Extended to 4 May 2021

Dear all,

Thank you to those who have already submitted to The Incompleteness Book II. It has been such a pleasure to receive submissions from those who submitted in 2020, as well as new voices.

Thanks, too, to those of you who have let us know that you’d like to contribute but are feeling “underwater”. On that basis we are extending the deadline to 4 May 2021 (11:59PM AEST).

Writing forward and/or thinking back: what do you make of the in/completeness, one year on?

Perhaps you write in great weariness … So be it. We welcome your submissions.

Please note that this opportunity is open only to current AAWP members. You will be prompted to provide membership details, when you submit via the following link:

For inquiries re. the status of your membership please contact:

If the membership fee presents an issue, please contact Julia:

Please note that international contributors should pay the international affiliate membership fee (a reduced fee for international colleagues who would like to participate in AAWP initiatives but are less likely to attend AAWP conferences, regularly).

Write boldly. Go gently.


Dr Julia Prendergast
Chair of the Executive Committee
Australasian Association of Writing Programs: AAWP
AAWP Portfolio: Partnerships and Prizes

Senior Lecturer, Writing and Literature
Major Discipline Coordinator: Professional Writing and Editing
Swinburne University

AAWP Postgraduate Prize Results

To reward postgraduate academic practice excellence, the AAWP Executive this year reinstated two prizes for the best postgraduate papers presented at conference – one for a scholarly research presentation and one for a creative/hybrid research presentation. To learn more about the results, head to our prizes page here.


The Australasian Association of Writing Programs (AAWP) / Voiceworks (Express Media) invite submissions of Sudden Writing.

We are deeply interested in capturing a composite “picture” of what people are writing about. Now. Please send creative work—short-short fiction, “sudden” fiction, “sketchy” stories, creative nonfiction, poetry, as well as hybrid forms.

We are accepting submissions on the following scale: up to 400 words prose, 40 lines for poetry, 200 words for prose poems, and the equivalent for hybrid forms. Submissions must be previously unpublished. Please send your most polished work, without delay.

If you win you will receive $500. You will have your work published on the Express Mediawebsite and receive a Voiceworks subscription. You will also receive a one-year membership to the AAWP.

Theme: Open

Submission window: 30 October 2020 – 15 November 2020 (midnight) AEDT

Word count:

  • 400 words prose
  • 40 lines for poetry
  • 200 words for prose poems

Take advantage of this opportunity to win a significant cash prize and get published. Be welcomed into the thriving writing communities of Voiceworks and the Australasian Association of Writing Programs (AAWP).

How to Enter:

For a full list of entry terms and conditions, click here.

Call for Papers


University of East Anglia, Norwich, UK in association with EACWP (European Association of Creative Writing Programmes)
Friday 21 May – Sunday 23, May 2021

Keynote Speakers:

(Scriptwriting Keynote TBA)

This online conference seeks to bring together PhD research students, Creative Writing tutors and graduates, writers and scholars to explore the varieties of practice in our discipline now, the points of convergence and contention, and, crucially, the opportunities for future development and the forces that may shape the nature of writing in the academy over the next several years.

Topics for papers will be organised into virtual panels and we’d particularly welcome proposals that address the teaching of writing in response to recent global crises, which might include but not be limited to the following themes:

  • Innovations in Creative Writing pedagogy
  • Decolonising the curriculum Digital
  • Technology and Creative Writing
  • Writing and the environment
  • Employability and the Creative Industries

We are keen to explore the expanded possibilities of online conferencing, and welcome suggestions for panels and roundtables that demonstrate the potential for a reconceived pedagogy in Creative Writing.

For a 20-minute paper or roundtable proposal, please submit an abstract of no more than 200 words to the conference organisers at, including your name, affiliation, email address, and a 120-word biography.

The NEW deadline for submissions is Monday 16 November, 2020. We will reply to all applicants by Tuesday 15 December, 2020.

Rates: full delegate £50; postgraduate £30; EACWP/NAWE members, £35. Further information on technical arrangements will be provided in February 2021, when general registration will also open.

You can view a full version of the CFP here.

Prize Announcements

We’re delighted to bring you the following prize results for 2020.

AAWP—Ubud Writers and Readers Festival Translators’ Prize

Winner: ‘423 Colours- excerpts from the Spanish novel 423 colores by Juan Gallardo and Rafael Avendaño’, translated by Lilit Thwaites

Highly Commended:

‘A Dosimeter on the Narrow Road to Oku’ by Durian Sukegawa, translated by Alison Watts

‘Mestri Di Mont’ an excerpt from Tito Maniacco’s (1932-2010) memoir, Mestri di mont (2007), translated by Valentina Maniacco.

‘Martin, Martin’s Newborn Brother, His Father, His Mother, The Doctor, Aunt Juanita, The Birdcages and a Bird’ – a short story by Ana María Moix, translated by Lilit Thwaites

‘The Blind Spot – excerpts from the Spanish novel El ángulo ciego by Luisa Etxenike’, translated by Lilit Thwaites.

AAWP UWAP—Chapter One Prize

Winner: Stone Hearts: A collection of short stories by Lisa Dowdall

Highly commended: The Taste of Cedars by Anne Hotta

AAWP—Australian Short Story Festival Short Story Prize

Winner: ‘Cockroach’ by Jane Cornes

Highly Commended:

‘Rose and Thorn’ by Sarah St Vincent Welch 

‘Not-John’ by Jon Geoffrey 

AAWP—Ubud Writers and Readers Emerging Writers’ Prize

Winner: ‘Pit Stop’ by Nina Winter

Highly Commended:

‘The Suitcase’ by Deborah Huff-Horwood 

‘Jungle Heat’ by Petra Sully 

AAWP—Slow Canoe Creative Nonfiction Emerging Writers’ Prize

Winner: ‘An incomplete archive of blue’ by Dani Netherclift

Highly Commended: ‘Learning to Say Goodbye the Dublin Way’ by Breda Hertaeg

Congratulations to all our successful entrants…and thanks to all who submitted.

HASS Associations Respond to Tertiary Fee Increases

Please find below a link to a letter from HASS Associations opposing changes to HASS Degree fees, with AAWP as a signatory:

Some of you may wish to sign a petition, opposing changes. If so please find attached a link and generic message, to share: 

Hi there,

I just signed the petition: Education for all – Stop fee hikes!
This issue means a lot to me – will you please sign the petition as well? Every person that signs this petition builds momentum for the campaign. Every signature brings us closer to victory!

Join me.

After you’ve signed the petition, please also take a moment to share it with others.