Annual Conference

The association’s 27th Annual Conference (28th – 30th November, 2022) will be hosted in partnership between Central Queensland University and University of the Sunshine Coast (USC). Live events will be held at USC’s Sunshine Coast Campus, Sippy Downs.

The theme of this year’s conference is ‘Fire Country’.

The deadline for submission of conference paper abstracts is 27th May, 11:59PM (AEST). Abstracts should include your name, abstract (200 – 250 words max), university affiliation, e-mail address, the title of your proposed paper, and a short bio (100 words max). Please submit abstracts by completing the “Abstract Submission” box on the 26th Annual Conference webpage here. Only AAWP members are eligible to present. You can find membership details, prices, and online sign up options here.

Please note that abstracts submitted to the postponed 2021 conference have been retained. Please resubmit your abstract only if it contains substantial changes to the focus or central content.

Previous annual conferences of the AAWP have been held at:

1996 University of Technology, Sydney

1997 Deakin University and RMIT University, Melbourne

1998 University of South Australia / University of Adelaide

1999 Edith Cowan University, Perth

2000 Griffith University, Gold Coast Campus

2001 University of Canberra

2002 University of Melbourne

2003 University of New South Wales

2004 Flinders University, Adelaide

2005 Curtin University of Technology, Perth

2006 Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane

2007 University of Canberra

2008 University of Technology, Sydney

2009 Waikato Institute of Technology, Hamilton, New Zealand

2010 RMIT, Melbourne

2011 Southern Cross University, Byron Bay

2012 Deakin University, Geelong

2013 University of Canberra

2014 Massey University, Wellington NZ

2015 Swinburne University, Melbourne

2016 University of Canberra, Canberra

2017 Flinders University, Adelaide

2018 Curtin University, Edith Cowan University, Murdoch University and the University of Western Australia, Perth

2019 University of Technology, Sydney

2020 Griffith University, Gold Coast

2021 University of the Sunshine Coast, Sunshine Coast (online symposium in lieu of conference)