Governance & Subcommittees

Past Presidents of the AAWP include Judith Rodriguez, Professor Tom Shapcott, Dr Eva Sallis, Professor Jeri Kroll, Professor Donna Lee Brien, Dr Marcelle Freiman, Professor Jen Webb, Professor Paul Hetherington and Dr Lynda Hawryluk. The immediate past President is Dr Antonia Pont (Deakin University).

The current President of the AAWP is Dr Julia Prendergast from Swinburne University.


The Executive

The 2019 AGM of the AAWP was held in Sydney, Australia, in November, and a new Executive for 2019-20 was elected.


  • Dr Julia Prendergast (Swinburne University, Victoria)
    Portfolio: Prizes and Partnerships

Deputy Chair

  • Professor Craig Batty (University of South Australia, Adelaide)
    Portfolio: Research

Public Officer

  • Dr Katrina Finlayson

Treasurer (acting)


  • Dr Deb Wain (Deakin University, Melbourne)

Members of the Executive

  • Dr Jessica Seymour (Fukuoka University, Japan)
    Portfolio: AAWP website / online presence coordinator
  • Dr Eileen Herbert-Goodall (University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland) 
    Portfolio: Memberships Liaison
  • Dr Sue Joseph  (University of Technology Sydney)
    Postgraduate ECR Representative
  • Dr Lee McGowan and Dr Liz Ellison (Central Queensland University)
    Annual Conference Representative
  • Daniel Juckes (Curtin University)
    Prizes and Partnerships Team

HDR Support

For support and confidential advice regarding PhD supervision and research, please send all enquiries to and we will forward the message onto the appropriate mentor after consultation with you.

  • Dr Sue Joseph (UTS, Sydney)
  • Distinguished Professor Jen Webb (University of Canberra, ACT)
  • Dr Julia Prendergast (Swinburne University, Victoria)
  • Professor Donna Lee Brien (CQ University, Queensland)
  • Professor Craig Batty (University of South Australia, Adelaide)
  • Professor Jeri Kroll (Flinders University, SA)

Please note: This service is aimed at providing pastoral support rather than policy advice. Support services include advice about managing your supervisor, managing your workload, and how to find help at your university when you are stuck. The service is not designed to provide advice regarding policy-related problems: these queries should be directed to the candidate’s higher degree graduate office.

AAWP Advisory Committee

  • Dr Antonia Pont, Immediate Past AAWP President/Chair (Deakin University, Melbourne)
  • Dr Lynda Hawryluk (Southern Cross University, NSW)
  • Professor Paul Hetherington (University of Canberra, ACT)
  • Professor Jeri Kroll (Flinders University, South Australia)
  • Professor Donna Lee Brien (CQ University, Queensland)
  • Gail Pittaway (Waikato Institute of Technology, New Zealand)
  • Associate Professor Dominique Hecq (Independent scholar)
  • Dr Stephanie Green, Previous Conference Convenor (Griffith University, Queensland)

AAWP Publications Committee

  • Distinguished Professor Jen Webb (University of Canberra, ACT)
  • Professor Paul Hetherington (University of Canberra, ACT)
  • Gail Pittaway (Waikato Institute of Technology, New Zealand)
  • Dr Paul Munden (National Association of Writers in Education, UK/University of Canberra, ACT)
  • Dr Deb Wain (Deakin University, Melbourne)
  • Dr Ross Watkins (University of the Sunshine Coast, Queensland)

TEXT Journal

Managing Editors: Professor Nigel Krauth and Associate Professor Julienne van Loon

General Editors: Dr Ross Watkins and Associate Professor Shady Cosgrove

Special Issues Editor: Dr Ben Stubbs

Creative Works Editors: Professor Nigel Krauth and Dr Anthony Lawrence

Reviews Editors: Dr Dominic Symes and Dr Emma Doolan (assisted by Simon-Peter Telford)

Meniscus Literary Journal

A biannual literary journal publishing flash fiction, short prose, poetry and short experimental writing.

Meniscus Editors:

  • Distinguished Professor Jen Webb
  • Professor Paul Hetherington
  • Gail Pittaway
  • Dr Deb Wain



c i n d e r  is a journal for Higher Degree Candidates and recent post-graduates publishing scholarly research on creative writing practices, methodologies and theories.


Managing Co-Editors: Hayley Elliott-Ryan and Antonia Pont:

Editor: Sue Joseph