Postgraduate Prizes results from the 20th Annual AAWP Conference

The AAWP is delighted to announce the winners of the 2015 Postgraduate Prizes for the most outstanding theoretical and creative papers presented at the annual conference.

The winner of the theoretical stream is Amelia Walker (University of South Australia) for her paper ‘Re-Collecting the Self as An o/Other: Creative writing research matters’. Extract from judges’ comments: ‘A very strong theoretical paper and highly relevant to creative writing practitioners’. Highly Commended is Caitlin Maling (Sydney University) for her paper ‘Collage and ecopoetry in Brian Teare’s Companion Grasses’. Extract from judges’ comments: ‘an erudite, wide-ranging and considered contribution’.

Prizes total $400, and the winner is offered the opportunity to co-edit the conference proceedings.

The winner of the creative stream is Amelia Walker (University of South Australia) for her paper ‘“I” has to give: Rethinking Bloom’s apophrades and/as ghostly Derridean gifts’. Extract from judges’ comments: ‘This is a beautifully written and conceptualised piece […] a haunting inquiry, utterly befitting of the conference theme and highly relevant to creative practitioners/teachers’.

The winner receives $300 and annual subscription to Overland, Island and Review of Australian Fiction.

The AAWP thanks all entrants for their thoughtful and rigorous contributions. The AAWP is grateful to the judges in both the theoretical and the creative stream for their generous support of our thriving PhD community.