Guy Morrison Prize Open for Submissions

The $4000 Guy Morrison Prize for Literary Journalism recognises excellence in Literary Journalism by an undergraduate and postgraduate Writing or Journalism student.

The prize honours Sydney journalist and playwright Guy Morrison, former Production Editor of The Australian and Features Editor of The Sydney Morning Herald, author of the memoir We Shared an Island, and plays Jara, Those Old Picasso Blues, Dancing the Tango in Sensible Shoes, Victor, and Eat Cake.

Conditions of the Prize

The Prize is for the best piece of Literary Journalism by an undergraduate or postgraduate student enrolled in a Writing or Journalism program in an Australian university. In the context of this Prize, Literary Journalism is defined as: “a factually accurate, well-researched story that demonstrates the use of fiction techniques in a work of non-fiction; a work that is written with style, flair, detailed description and narrative flow; a work that demonstrates a journalistic and critical understanding of some of the finest reportage in the English language”. The work submitted for the Prize must demonstrate these qualities.

There will be only one award presented each year and this will be at the discretion of the judges. The prize may not be given if there is not deemed to be a suitable candidate. The amount of the Prize is $4000. There is a travel allowance of up to $500 if the winner lives outside Sydney.

To qualify for consideration for the Prize, the applicant must:

  1. Have been enrolled in a Writing or Journalism Program as a part-time or full-time undergraduate or postgraduate in an Australian university.
  2. Have submitted a story of not less than 2,000 words and not more than 10,000 words that exemplifies the qualities of Literary Journalism as stated here.
  3. Have produced the work in the 2015 academic year


Applicants must submit three (3) copies of the story, A-4 and double-spaced, with full details of name, institution, course, contact details and have it authenticated by a supervising academic.

Applications must be received by Trusteess, Dr Sandra Symons, Faculty of Arts & Social Sciences, University of Technology, Sydney, PO Box 123 Broadway, NSW 2007 and marked “Guy Morrison Prize” by Friday the 29th of April.

The winning entry will be decided by a specially convened selection committee and the nominated judge, the decision of which shall be final. The winner will be announced at the launch of the UTS Writers’ Anthology during the 2016 Sydney Writers’ Festival, May 16-22.