Postgraduate conference paper prize

In past years, the Postgraduate Prize for most outstanding conference paper was open to postgraduate participants in the AAWP annual conference. It aimed to encourage and reward excellence in research and scholarship in creative writing, and papers were ranked according to the following criteria: clarity of the research question; significance of the inquiry; originality in thought and approach; appropriateness of the writing style. Prizes totalled $400, and the winner was offered the opportunity to co-edit the conference proceedings.



2016: Rowena Lennox (University of Technology Sydney)


2015: Amelia Walker (University of South Australia)

‘“I” has to give: Rethinking Bloom’s apophrades and/as ghostly Derridean gifts’


2016: Caitlin Malling (University of Sydney)

‘Spending a Month with William Stafford in Oregon’



2016: Rachel Franks (University of Sydney)

‘Stealing stories: Punishment, profit and the Ordinary of Newgate’

2015: Amelia Walker (University of South Australia)

‘Re-Collecting the Self as An o/Other: Creative writing research matters’

2014: Lisa Smithies (Melbourne University)

‘Playing with Gaps: Cognitive Science and the Creative Writer’.
Extract from judges’ comments: a balanced, generous and memorable piece of writing.


2016: Jason Nahrung’s (University of Queensland)

‘Stolen Futures: The Anthropocene in Australian science fiction mosaic novels’

2015: Caitlin Maling (Sydney University)

‘Collage and ecopoetry in Brian Teare’s Companion Grasses’

2014: Shari Kocher (Melbourne University)

‘Flying into the eye of the volcano: Dickinson’s volcano imagery in Anne Carson’s Autobiography of Red’.
Extract from judges’ comments: This paper is extremely erudite. It weaves fine threads with a poised hand.

Click here for information about the next Annual Conference